Reading= happiness


In all the festive craziness and end of term deadlines, taking time out of our to-do list to read novels can seem a bit of an indulgence. In fact all year round I hear people piously declare to me, “I don’t have time to read”, which is a bit of lie really. All of us have time to read, I know very few people who don’t have any leisure time at all. It’s a case of how you choose to spend that leisure time. For me, I can’t not read. I get unhappy, my creativity dries up- in short my happiness decreases and that makes me lose motivation and productivity. Unless I am really ill then I read or listen to an audio book everyday.

At the moment I am reading The Shallows: How the internet is changing the way we read, think and remember by Nicholas Carr. I have so many things I want to blog about this book but at this busy holiday time, I’m going to start by explaining why reading is essential happiness. When we read fiction we are able to get ‘lost’ in a book because our brain tries to recreate what we are reading. Our brain actually stimulates our senses and uses our memories so we feel like we are living what we are reading.

Reading fiction makes us see the world in a new way and makes our brain pay attention to the smaller things in life. Carr explains: “The words in books didn’t just strengthen people’s ability to think abstractly; they enriched people’s experience of the physical world.” If you need to de-stress or find happiness in everyday life again then you need to make time to read whatever fiction takes your fancy.

Do you make time to read regularly? Or, do you believe you don’t have time to read?

7 thoughts on “Reading= happiness

  1. I’m always reading, often several books at once. Currently I am on a WWII kick. Have no idea why. I will also read on a daily basis some poetry, blogs, chapter of a memoir or novel. I’ll have to check out “The Shallows.”

  2. I’m like you I need to read. Sometimes life gets in the way and my to-read pile gets a bit big but I tend to binge read, if I’m drawn into a story I can’t stop and sometime will finish it in a day!

  3. Reading is sort of like air to me. I believe it fuels my writing ability as much as breathing fuels my body. I can’t NOT do it. I don’t read as much or as often as I’d like, but I always have a book or two going. Happy holidays : )!

  4. I love reading, yet I very rarely have time to sit down and read a book!!! Bizarely, I’ve had time to sit down and write a book (and writing another book!!), though!

  5. I love to read! I joined a book club in my new city which is awesome. When I was doing my Master’s I had so much school reading that I rarely had leisure reading time. So I’ve been making up for that since I finished my degree!

Leave a Reply

