Happy 1st birthday


A year ago today I began this blog. To celebrate The Coffee House’s first birthday. I am re-blogging the very first post. It happens to follow on quite nicely from the spirit of Lottie’s interview (if you missed it, you can read it here). Here’s to another year of blogging- enjoy!

The glass is half full

Here’s a slice of optimism to start the new week:

“One of the things I learned the hard way was that it doesn’t pay to get discouraged. Keeping busy and making optimism a way of life can restore your faith in yourself.”

– Lucille Ball (1911-1989)

I have always found that staying busy and helping others has always helped me get through crappy times. When you start helping others you realise that “everybody hurts sometimes” and that whatever is happening to you, there is something much worse happening to someone else- you gain perspective. It sounds cliched, probably because it is, but I find it works. If that doesn’t help, a nice dose of escapism* helps a lot, whether it be reading a good novel or watching your favourite film. Whatever horrible situation you might be dealing with, the world will keep turning and you have to get on with your life, that doesn’t mean ignoring the fact that you’re hurting, but no situation should stop you from the living the best life you could. I get ill a lot so I end up spending days, even weeks tucked up in bed but I like to start a new project. I have a zillion on the go at once, this blog is one in fact. I hope that doesn’t make me sound pious, there is so much negativity that surrounds us, there is always something or someone which will undermine our self confidence or make us feel as though our whole world has shattered, but happiness is not dependent on your life being perfect, but a state of mind, happiness is your ability to remain positive in spite of what you are dealing with. I’m lucky that I have a wonderful best friend and family who have shown me this.

Keep the faith,

K

*Editing note: I probably should have said a ‘healthy escapism’ like reading a book or chatting with a friend or watching a film.

2 thoughts on “Happy 1st birthday

  1. Hi Katie, I just wanted to say how much I have enjoyed reading some of your blog. I too have FM and also angina and it has taken me several years to come to terms with not being able to do as much as I used to and I get frustrated if I feel I am wasting my day but found a new way of thinking which has helped me to cope and allowed my family to help more. Crafting is my saviour and I get so much pleasure from it. I have learnt to make the most of every day now as life can change in a second and we need to make happy memories for our children and grandchildren. Take care, Kim x

    • Hi Kim,
      Thank you for your lovely comment. I am really glad you enjoy reading me blog. It’s great to hear that you have a more positive outlook. It’s not easy getting there, I’ve had many a crying,”it’s not fair” fit and struggled with depression too so well done for getting to a better place mentally- I don’t mean that to sound patronising. I had a quick look at your website- your work is incredible! In an earlier post (you might not have read it) I talked about coming to a place where I realized that my life is completely different because of my illness but is not actually any less good. It would have been a great shame if you had never worked on your amazing crafting abilities. Perhaps you wouldn’t have done so if you hadn’t gotten ill because, in honesty life gets in the way and we never seem to get round to these things. For me, I never would have discovered how much I loved writing and definitely never would have found the time for writing this blog. I hope you keep reading and continue to enjoy my posts.
      Katie x
      p.s. The earlier post I’m talking about can be found here (just in case you’re interested)- https://coffeehousediscussions.wordpress.com/2011/02/25/the-prophecies-of-the-analogue-world/

Leave a Reply

