Pancakes and hairdryers


It just turned midnight on Shrove Tuesday which means that for most of us, we are stuffed all the way up to the tippy top with pancakes. Shrove Tuesday is paradoxical, it brings two things- an excuse to gorge on pancakes and an attempt at self-control. By the time Ash Wednesday rolls around, most of us have already broken our new year’s resolutions. In the last few weeks springtime has crept up on Cardiff, making my friends and I feeling a bit fresher and lighter. The feeling of new-ness turns our attention into thinking about all the great ambitions we had made in January. Even if you are not religious, lent is an opportunity to test yourself. It need not just be about restriction though, lent can provide an opportunity to take up a good habit.

You could try eating 5 portions of fruit and vegetables a day or start exercising. If you’re a writer then lent is a really good motivation to start writing for 5 or 10 minutes a day. Or, maybe you could finally start that hobby you’ve been planning on.

When I was trying to think up ideas of what to give up for lent, I came across an ehow article which gave some good hints. If you’re stuck for ideas then try thinking about giving up an activity, maybe watching telly or checking Facebook. I know someone who gave up shopping for non-necessity things- that is a toughie. Or you could try swapping, so you could watch half an hour less of telly or using the internet and spend that time reading a novel.

Whatever you pick, do something which will actually challenge you. I tried to give up chocolate many times. One year I did finally manage to achieve what many had thought impossible- I have to say, I did feel pretty good. If you manage to stick to lent, then you do get a feeling of self-achievement. And, if you give up chocolate, you have a reason to eat lots of Easter eggs come Easter Sunday. This year I am going to give up all electrical hair stylers- my straightners, my hair dryer and my curling tongs, in the hope that my hair might actually recover a bit from years and years of daily being twisted, pulled and generally burnt.

What are you going to give up?

6 thoughts on “Pancakes and hairdryers

  1. I’m already pushing the edges of my comfort zone with the 30-Day Bikram Yoga challenge but cutting out sugar would be a good one for me. Hm. I wonder if I can do it?

    • That’s a great challenge. I had to give up all sugar, including natural sugar in fruit, for a while and it was really difficult. I would suggest to continue eating fruit if you do decide to give up sugar. It would be hard but you should go for it. They say the more sugar you eat, the more you want, so breaking that cycle for 40 days would probably have lots of health benefits. Let me know what you decide 🙂 xx

  2. Wow giving up your hair straighteners! I really don’t think I could do that, my hair would be a frizzy mess if I did 🙂 Good choice though, let us know how it goes!

  3. Pingback: Easter for athiests | Welcome to the Coffee House

Leave a Reply

