The glass is half full


Here’s a slice of optimism to start the new week:

“One of the things I learned the hard way was that it doesn’t pay to get discouraged. Keeping busy and making optimism a way of life can restore your faith in yourself.”

– Lucille Ball (1911-1989)

I have always found that staying busy and helping others has always helped me get through crappy times. When you start helping others you realise that “everybody hurts sometimes” and that whatever is happening to you, there is something much worse happening to someone else- you gain perspective. It sounds cliched, probably because it is, but I find it works. If that doesn’t help, a nice dose of escapism helps a lot, whether it be reading a good novel or watching your favourite film. Whatever horrible situation you might be dealing with, the world will keep turning and you have to get on with your life, that doesn’t mean ignoring the fact that you’re hurting, but no situation should stop you from the living the best life you could. I get ill a lot so I end up spending days, even weeks tucked up in bed but I like to start a new project. I have a zillion on the go at once, this blog is one in fact. I hope that doesn’t make me sound pious, there is so much negativity that surrounds us, there is always something or someone which will undermine our self confidence or make us feel as though our whole world has shattered, but happiness is not dependent on your life being perfect, but a state of mind, happiness is your ability to remain positive in spite of what you are dealing with. I’m lucky that I have a wonderful best friend and family who have shown me this.

Keep the faith,

K

2 thoughts on “The glass is half full

  1. Pingback: Happy 1st birthday me! | Welcome to the Coffee House

  2. Pingback: Happy 1st birthday | Welcome to the Coffee House

Leave a Reply

